Home » Current Members

Current Members

Alexandra Navrotsky leads the research group, which averages about thirty people. Strong emphasis is placed on international collaboration, with residents from around the world working together. At any given time, about seven postdoctoral scholars and an equal number of graduate students are working on a variety of projects. The lab is supported by advanced graduate and undergraduate courses available on campus, and frequently offers opportunities for graduate and undergraduate students to participate in its projects. Current group members, faculty and past group members all contribute to our lab’s research.

notavailableCan Agca
Email: cagca@ucdavis.edu
Position: PhD Student with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: Turkey
Research: High-temperature thermodynamics of metal oxides; CALPHAD modeling

 

Zamirbek AkimbekovZamirbek Akimbekov
Email: zakimbekov@ucdavis.edu
Position: PhD Student with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: Kyrgyzstan
Research: Porous materials and clusters

 

notavailable

Arseniy Bokov
Email: abokov@ucdavis.edu
Position: PhD Student with Ricardo Castro
Country of Origin: Russia
Research: TBD

 

notavailable Patrick Beckett
Email: pbeckett@ucdavis.edu
Position: PhD Student with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: USA
Research: TBD

 

jiewei-chen Jiewei Chen
Email: cjwchen@ucdavis.edu
Position: PhD Student with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: China
Research: Adsorption on carbon-based materials (graphene, carbon nanotubes)

 

chengkai-chung
Cheng-Kai Chung
Email: ckbchung@ucdavis.edu
Position: PhD Student with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: Taiwan
Research: Thermodynamics of actinide-bearing materials for nuclear applications; Radiation damage and annealing; Materials for energy applications

 

notavailable Flavio de Souza
Email: fdesouza@ucdavis.edu
Position: Visiting Scholar with Ricardo Castro
Country of Origin: Brazil
Research: TBD

 

notavailable Matthew Fyhrie
Email: mlfyhrie@ucdavis.edu
Position: Undergraduate Student
Country of Origin: USA
Research: TBD

 

Mayra Dancini Goncalves
Mayra Dancini Goncalves
Email: mdgoncalves@ucdavis.edu
Position: Postdoc with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: Brazil
Research: Investigation of aluminum and gallium inorganic clusters to understand the pathways between ions in solution and nanophase mineral precipitates

 

notavailableXin Guo
Email: xinguo@ucdavis.edu
Position: Postdoc with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: China
Research: Thermodynamics of Flexible Zeolite Frameworks and Molecular Confinement

 

notavailableShmulik Hayun
Email: shayun@ucdavis.edu
Position: Visiting Scholar with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: Israel
Research: TBD

 

notavailable Denys Kapush
Email: kapush@ucdavis.edu
Position: Postdoc with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: Ukraine
Research: TBD

 

notavailable Andy Lam
Email: adlam@ucdavis.edu
Position: PhD student with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: USA
Research: Synthesis of uranium-iron-oxide nanoparticles; Energetics of uranium adsorption and structural incorporation into iron oxides. The role that naturally occurring iron oxides play in the context of radioactive waste leakage, and the potential of these materials for use in remediation of contaminated water

 

notavailable Apple Li
Email: hhhli@ucdavis.edu
Position: PhD Student with Ricardo Castro
Country of Origin: China
Research: TBD

 

notavailable Kristina Lilova
Email: kililova@ucdavis.edu
Position: Project Scientist with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: Bulgaria
Research: TBD

 

Pardha S. Maram
Pardha Saradhi Maram
Email: pmaram@ucdavis.edu
Position: Project Scientist with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: India
Research: Development and thermochemistry of advanced functional metal oxides for energy applications

 

notavailable Kimiko Nakajima
Email: knakajima@ucdavis.edu
Position: PhD Student with Ricardo Castro
Country of Origin: Japan
Research: TBD

 

Novendra Novendra Novendra Novendra
Email: nnovendra@ucdavis.edu
Position: PhD Student with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: Indonesia
Research: TBD

 

 

notavailable Alfred Pavlik
Email: ajpavlik@ucdavis.edu
Position: Undergraduate Student
Country of Origin: USA
Research: TBD

 

Geetu Sharma Geetu Sharma
Email: gssharma@ucdavis.edu
Position: Postdoc with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: India
Research: Interface and bulk energies of noncrystalline ceramics

 

 

us_sheljug_anna_sergeevna_9281 Anna Shelyug
Email: ashelyug@ucdavis.edu
Position: PhD Student with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: Russia
Research: Thermochemistry of Ce-Ca-Zr fluorite solid solutions;
Energetics of hydrated and dehydrated Th-bearing phosphates;
Thermodynamics of radiation-damaged fluorite-structured materials

 

notavailable Tamilarasan Subramani
Email: tsubramani@ucdavis.edu
Position: Postdoc with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: India
Research: Thermochemistry of rare-earth phosphate minerals and disordered lithium-ion battery cathode materials

 

Sergey V. Ushakov Sergey V. Ushakov
Email: svushakov@ucdavis.edu
Position: Staff Research Associate
Country of Origin: Russia
Research: Development of new high-temperature instruments; Calorimetry above 1500 °C

 

 

Lili Wu Lili Wu
Email: qyzwu@ucdavis.edu
Position: Postdoc with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: China
Research: Energetics of surface reactivity on nanoparticles with organic molecules;
Thermodynamics of critical elements (Li, La, Ce, Nd)

 

notavailable Chenguang Yang
Email: cgyang@ucdavis.edu
Position: PhD Student with Ricardo Castro
Country of Origin: China
Research: TBD

 

notavailable Pinghui Zhang
Email: zphzhang@ucdavis.edu
Position: PhD Student with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: China
Research: TBD

 

notavailable Shenli Zhang
Email: shlzhang@ucdavis.edu
Position: PhD Student with Ricardo Castro
Country of Origin: China
Research: TBD

 

notavailable Ido Zuckerman
Email: izukerman@ucdavis.edu
Position: Visiting Scholar with Alexandra Navrotsky
Country of Origin: Israel
Research: TBD